Just a little shed

My new online acquaintance, Peggy  (check out her creativity) likes it when I post the source along with my sketch or painting.  So here’s one for Peggy…. This shed / dock area in Hopetown, The Bahamas, appears shady & gray. The photo doesn’t at all capture the tropical atmosphere. But I remember why I took the photo, the feeling of the island, and I like the geometric composition, so played with some brighter colors in my sketch.  I’m focusing more on the play of light as the true subject matter. You can paint from other people’s source photographs if it’s only for practice; never enter such a painting in a show or event as your own work. Better yet, paint from your own photographs…. But when you do, put yourself back into that moment. The light, the atmosphere, how you felt, what interested you about the scene.  Now paint THAT.

My new online acquaintance, Peggy (check out her creativity) likes it when I post the source along with my sketch or painting. So here’s one for Peggy…. This shed / dock area in Hopetown, The Bahamas, appears shady & gray. The photo doesn’t at all capture the tropical atmosphere. But I remember why I took the photo, the feeling of the island, and I like the geometric composition, so played with some brighter colors in my sketch. I’m focusing more on the play of light as the true subject matter. You can paint from other people’s source photographs if it’s only for practice; never enter such a painting in a show or event as your own work. Better yet, paint from your own photographs…. But when you do, put yourself back into that moment. The light, the atmosphere, how you felt, what interested you about the scene. Now paint THAT.

About Beth Bourland

Artist Beth Bourland's sketch journal about observing, appreciating and responding to everyday moments.
This entry was posted in General, Tropical Locales. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Just a little shed

  1. I learn so much from comparing the picture to the painting. The way you’ve simplified it and taken licence on the size of buildings, colors, fence, etc. makes the painting so much prettier than the picture!

  2. Boninie Crosse says:

    I smile at the magenta roof and approve of the arrangement, but the white roof touching it is too white for my taste and needs some shading.

Leave a Reply

