Yacht, see?

bahama_yachts_ph

For this sketch, I sat on a bench in the shade, while doing my laundry at the Green Turtle Marina. I did a light pencil sketch (15 to 20 min.) then went over it with a Staedtler Permanent "Fine" marker (about 10 min.). The dock had contemporary pilings, but I changed them to weathered wood. I kept the dock light to convey the sunlight. Using a portable palette & small water container, I added the color with a #12 pointed brush. The sketchbook is Arches 140-pound cold press, spiral bound, about 7 x 10".

For this sketch, I sat on a bench in the shade, while doing my laundry at the Green Turtle Marina. I did a light pencil sketch (15 to 20 min.) then went over it with a Staedtler Permanent “Fine” marker (about 10 min.). The dock had contemporary pilings, but I changed them to weathered wood. I kept the dock light to convey the sunlight. Using a portable palette & small water container, I added the color with a #12 pointed brush. The sketchbook is Arches 140-pound cold press, spiral bound, about 7 x 10″.

Little alley with alleycats -- the town of New Plymouth had delightful little pathways with blooming plants, picket fences and limestone walls.

Little alley with alleycats — the town of New Plymouth had delightful little pathways with blooming plants, picket fences and limestone walls.

About Beth Bourland

Artist Beth Bourland's sketch journal about observing, appreciating and responding to everyday moments.
This entry was posted in General, Tropical Locales. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Yacht, see?

  1. Peggy Thibodeau says:

    Wow, these are so, so great! I learn so much when you post the original photo. For example, I love the way you simplified the houses in the distance and made the palms more important. I would have driven myself crazy trying to draw all the little houses. Also, your creative license with color really inspired me! Sometimes I’m trying to match colors but it is way more fun to paint the way it makes you feel, or how you wish it looked. I’ve read this so many times, but I’m learning more from your blog. Thanks!!!

Leave a Reply

