Sketching live (a break from the Alphabeth)

I sketched this at a performance in Alameda last Friday. I worked in pencil & a Staedtler "F" black ink sketching pen while the musicians performed. It was challenging -- one thing is that musicians tend to hold a pose or return to a similar pose often. I still had to be pretty quick; trying to express the gestures of their hands is tough! My figure drawing has improved with practice. Here are a couple of great references for sketching everyday scenes from your life: "Keeping a Watercolor Sketchbook" by Brenda Swenson, and two Urban Sketching handbooks, by Gabriel Campanario -- there's one on architecture/cityscapes, and another on figurative sketching. If you are a fellow sketcher, let me know what you're up to! I'll be sharing more links of artists that I follow.

I sketched this at a concert in Alameda last Fri., drawing with pencil & a Staedtler “F” black ink pen during the performance. The sketchbook is about 9 x 11″.  It was challenging — one thing is that musicians tend to hold a pose or return to a similar pose often. I still had to be pretty quick; trying to express the gestures of their hands is tough! I added watercolor at home, later. My figure drawing has improved with practice. Here are a couple of great references for sketching everyday scenes from your life: “Keeping a Watercolor Sketchbook” by Brenda Swenson, and two Urban Sketching handbooks, by Gabriel Campanario — there’s one on architecture/cityscapes, and another on figurative sketching. If you are a fellow sketcher, let me know what you’re up to! I’ll be sharing more links of artists that I follow.

 

After the Alameda Community Band performed, this swing band got into it - replete with holiday hats.

After the Alameda Community Band performed, this band played – replete with festive hats. They did holiday tunes with swing arrangements.

About Beth Bourland

Artist Beth Bourland's sketch journal about observing, appreciating and responding to everyday moments.
This entry was posted in CA - East Bay, General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sketching live (a break from the Alphabeth)

  1. rosjenke says:

    These are great sketches. Another book I found useful is Lynne Chapman’s Sketching People.

Leave a Reply

